Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly effects minor changes in House leadership

Minor changes in the leadership of the Akwa Ibom state house of assembly has been made following a letter signed by 17 members of the People’s Democratic Party in the House and addressed to the Speaker demanding a change in the offices of Deputy Chief Whip and Deputy House Leader.

Announcing the changes, the speaker, Onofiok Luke said the member representing Ibiono Ibom State Constituency, Ime Okon, has been appointed as the deputy House Leader while the member representing Eket State Constituency, David Lawrence emerged the new deputy chief whip.

They replace the former deputy leader and member representing Uruan state constituency, Aniekan Bassey and the former deputy chief whip and Member for ONNA, Nse Essien, who were removed from their positions.

Also, member representing Mkpat Enin state constituency Otobong Ndem was appointed as new chairman, House Services Committee while Member representing Etim Ekpo- Ika Gabriel Toby is the new chairman, committee on Commerce and Industry. In the same vein, Aniekan Bassey was redeployed from House Services Committee to Committee on Science and Technology as chairman.

On his part the chairman of the committee on information Ime Okon said the house took advantage of the standing order of the house to effect the changes in the leadership of the house in order the move the sixth assembly forward.

Member representing Ibiono Ibom state constituency Ime Okon speaking.

Leave a Reply