Akwa United emerge champions of AITEO Cup

Akwa United FC have emerged champions of this year’s AITEO Cup after defeating Niger Tornadoes 3-2 in a penalty shoot –out to become the first winners of the captivating AITEO trophy.
The scoreline at the final whistle was 0-0 but the Promise Keepers prevailed in the ensuing penalty shoot out.
In 2015, they also won the competition which was formerly known as the Federation Cup.
Akwa United will now get the cash prize of N25 million and would also be representing Nigeria in the CAF Confederation Cup.
On their part, Niger Tornadoes, who eliminated defending champions, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, to make it to the Lagos final will get N10 million.
The colourful final was watched by a glittering array of eminent personalities, including Akwa Ibom State Governor, Udom Emmanuel; Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State and Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger State.
CAF President Ahmad, CAF Vice Presidents Kwesi Nyantakyi and Omari Selemani, CAF Emergency Committee members Souleman Waberi and Amaju Pinnick, Executive Committee members of NFF, chieftains of sponsors AITEO, NFF Management, Members of the Lagos State Executive Council and members of the diplomatic community were equally in attendance.
Akwa United goalkeeper, Olorunleke Ojo won both the Best Goalkeeper and Most Valuable Player awards and Coach, Abdu Maikaba was adjudged the Best Coach, while Akwa United forward Christian Pyagbara also claimed the Top Scorer’s award with his seven goals in this year’s competition.

Leave a Reply