INEC declares Osun State governorship election “inconclusive.”

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared the Osun State governorship election “inconclusive.”

At the end of the collation of votes, the PDP candidate, Ademola Adeleke, won majority votes of about 254,698 votes while Gboyega Oyetola of the APC came a close second with 254,345 votes. Both leading candidates had a difference of about 353 votes.

The declaration was made by the presiding officer of the election, Joseph Fuwape who explained that the total registered voters in the five polling units where elections were cancelled is 3,498 votes adding that since the figure was higher than the difference between the votes of the leading candidates, a re-run election had to be conducted.

A re-run election will now take place on Thursday September 27 in the affected polling units.

Leave a Reply