Senate constitutes ad-hoc committee to probe power sector under past administrations

The Senate has constituted a 13-member ad-hoc committee to conduct investigation into the management of funds appropriated for the power sector by successive governments since 1999.

The committee, led by Abubakar Kyari, has a two-week mandate to conduct its investigations and submit its report to the Senate.

The investigation is expected to cover the tenures of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, late President Umaru Yar’Adua and President Goodluck Jonathan as well as the unbundling of the defunct Power Holding Company of Nigeria by the Federal Government, the Senate resolved.

The Senate took the decision as parts of resolutions that followed a motion by the Majority Leader, Ali Ndume who sought the immediate reconnection of some parts of Borno State back to the National grid in view of the challenges his constituents face as results of the outage and the degeneration of power supply across the country which has affected the economic activities, especially collapse of several industries.

The Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio, lamented Nigeria’s deplorable power generation, adding that after corruption, lack of power is the greatest cause of hardship in Nigeria.

The Senate adjourned plenary to September 29.

Leave a Reply